Agenda and minutes

Ceremonial Council
Friday, 19 May 2017 7:00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber, Town Hall, Barking

Contact: Leanna McPherson, Democratic Services Officer, Civic Centre, Dagenham 

No. Item


Declaration of Members' Interests

In accordance with the Council’s Constitution, Members are asked to declare any interest they may have in any matter which is to be considered at this meeting.


There were no declarations of interest.


Minutes (20 May 2016) pdf icon PDF 50 KB

Additional documents:


The minutes of the two meetings held on 20 May 2016 were confirmed as correct.


Appointment of Mayor

The Council is asked to receive nominations for the Office of Mayor for 2017/18.


The Chair asked Ceremonial Council for nominations for the appointment of Mayor for 2017/18.


Councillor Twomey nominated Councillor Aziz and spoke in support of the nomination.  Councillor L Rice seconded the nomination and was joined by Councillors Ashraf, Rodwell, Rai, Bremner, Butt and Kangethe in also speaking in support of the nomination.


The Assembly resolved that Councillor Abdul Aziz be duly elected Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the municipal year 2017/2018.


Following the election of Councillor Aziz as Mayor, Members were asked to give their support to Councillor Aziz for the ensuing year.


Councillor Aziz returned thanks for his election and announced that Najma Aziz, Iqqra Aziz and Hinna Aziz would act as his Mayoresses and Shoaeb Aziz would act as his Consort for the coming year.


At this point in the meeting, the incoming and outgoing mayoral parties left the Chamber.  On returning, Councillor Aziz took the Chair.


The Mayor then appointed Hafiz Abdul Rasool as his religious advisor for the ensuing municipal year.  Mr Rasool returned thanks for his appointment.


Votes of thanks were made to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Eileen Keller, the Consort, Reg Keller, and the Mayoress, Keira Keller.


The Leader, Councillor Rodwell, expressed the Council’s gratitude for the work of Councillor Keller during her year as Mayor.


Commemorative badges were presented to the retiring Mayor, Consort and Mayoress.


Appointment of the Young Mayor

The Council is asked to note the appointment of Young Mayor for 2017/18.


The Chief Executive, Chris Naylor, advised that a new Young Mayor had been appointed by the BAD Youth Forum in February 2017.


The Chief Executive introduced the new Young Mayor, Vaisaly Gnanapandithan, and invited her to address the Ceremonial Council.


The Leader then took the opportunity to thank the retiring Young Mayor, Pelumi Oyewo, for the able manner in which she had discharged the duties of Young Mayor during 2016/17.