Agenda and minutes

Extraordinary Meeting, Ceremonial Council
Friday, 17 May 2019 8:00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber, Town Hall, Barking

Contact: David Symonds, Democratic Services Officer, Ground Floor, Barking Town Hall, 1 Town Square, Barking, IG11 7LU 

No. Item


Declaration of Members' Interests

In accordance with the Council’s Constitution, Members are asked to declare any interest they may have in any matter which is to be considered at this meeting.


There were no declarations of interest.


Conferring of the Honorary Freedom of the Borough

The Ceremonial Council is asked to confer the title of Honorary Freedom of the Borough to


·  Neal Crowley and

·  Jeff Porter


The Chair advised that a special meeting of the Ceremonial Council had been called in order to consider two nominations for the award of the Freedom of the Borough, the highest honour that a Council could bestow on an individual in recognition of their outstanding achievements.


Councillor Worby moved and Councillor Twomey seconded the nomination of Mr Neal Crowley as Honorary Freeman of the Borough.  Councillor Worby spoke on Neal’s tireless work on behalf of the local community in relation to a wide range of equal opportunity and inclusion issues, as well as his roles as Lead Volunteer in the Borough and advocate for improved access for disabled people.  Other notable achievements included Neal’s active role in the Borough’s 50th anniversary celebrations during 2015, his coaching of athletes from Barking and Dagenham at the Special Olympics in Sheffield in 2017 and his current role as Chairperson of the International Day of Disabled People (IDDP).


Councillor Geddes moved and Councillor Kangethe seconded the nomination of Mr Jeff Porter as Honorary Freeman of the Borough.  Councillor Geddes drew particular attention to Mr Porter’s service as a Councillor between 1998 to 2006 and his bravery during the 7 July 2005 London terror attacks when, in his profession as a London Underground train driver, he helped the evacuation of passengers caught up in the bombing of a train at Edgware Road station. 


The Ceremonial Council resolved to award the Honorary Freedom of the Borough to Mr Neal Crowley and Mr Jeff Porter.