Agenda and minutes

Ceremonial Council
Friday, 20 May 2016 7:00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber, Town Hall, Barking

Contact: Iris Buffoni, Mayoral & Members Support Officer, Town Hall, Barking 

No. Item


Declaration of Members' Interests

In accordance with the Council’s Constitution, Members are asked to declare any interest they may have in any matter which is to be considered at this meeting.


There were no declarations of interest.


Minutes - To confirm as correct the minutes of the meeting held on 5 June 2015 pdf icon PDF 51 KB


The minutes of the meeting held on 5 June 2015 were confirmed as correct.


Appointment of Mayor

The Council is asked to receive nominations for the Office of Mayor for 2016/17.


The Chair asked Ceremonial Council for nominations for the appointment of Mayor for 2016/2017.


Councillor Ashraf nominated Councillor Eileen Keller.  Councillor Chand seconded the nomination.  Councillor Ashraf took the opportunity to speak in support of the nomination.  Councillor Chand, Councillor Jones, Councillor Turner, Councillor Rodwell and Councillor McCarthy also spoke in favour of the nomination.


The Assembly resolved that Councillor Eileen Keller be duly elected Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the municipal year 2016/2017.


Following the election of Councillor Keller as Mayor, Members were given the opportunity to give their support to Councillor Keller for the ensuing year.


Councillor Keller returned thanks for her election and announced that Reg Keller would act as her Consort and Kira Keller would act as her Mayoress for the coming year.


At this point in the meeting, the incoming and outgoing mayoral parties left the Chamber.  On returning, Councillor Keller took the Chair.


The Mayor then appointed Reverend Penny Sayer as her Chaplain for the ensuing municipal year.  Reverend Sayer returned thanks for her appointment.


Votes of thanks were made to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Simon Bremner, the Mayoresses, Mrs Dianna Mary Bremner and Miss Andrea Mary Bremner.


The Leader, Councillor Rodwell, expressed the Council’s gratitude for the work of Councillor Bremner during his year as Mayor.


Commemorative badges were presented to the retiring Mayor and Mayoresses.



Appointment of the Young Mayor

The Council is asked to note the appointment of Young Mayor for 2016/17.


The Chief Executive, Chris Naylor, advised that a new Young mayor had been appointed by the BAD Youth Forum in February 2016.


The Chief Executive introduced the new Young Mayor, Pelumi Oyewo, and invited her to address the Ceremonial Council.


The Leader then took the opportunity to thank the retiring Young Mayor, Angelica Olawepo, for the able manner in which she had discharged the duties of Young Mayor for the year 2015/2016.