Agenda and minutes

Annual Meeting, Ceremonial Council
Friday, 25 May 2018 7:00 pm

Venue: Council Chamber, Town Hall, Barking

Contact: Leanna McPherson, Democratic Services Officer, 5th Floor, Roycraft House, 15 Linton Road, Barking, IG11 8HE 

No. Item


Declaration of Members' Interests

In accordance with the Council’s Constitution, Members are asked to declare any interest they may have in any matter which is to be considered at this meeting.


There were no declarations of interest.


Minutes (19 May 2017) pdf icon PDF 53 KB

Additional documents:


The minutes of the two meetings held on 19 May 2017 were confirmed as correct.


Appointment of Mayor 2018/19

The Council is asked to receive nominations for the appointment of Mayor for 2018/19.


The Chair asked Ceremonial Council for nominations for the appointment of Mayor for 2018/19.


Councillors S Bright nominated Councillor Alasia and Councillor Ashraf seconded the nomination.  Councillors Channer, Geddes, Kangethe, D Rodwell and Turner spoke in support of the nomination.


The Assembly resolved that Councillor Sanchia Alasia be duly elected Mayor of the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham for the municipal year 2018/19.


Councillor Alasia returned thanks for her election and announced that Victor Alasia would act as her Consort and Princess Bright and Dara Badejo would act as her Mayoresses.


At this point in the meeting, the incoming and outgoing mayoral parties left the Chamber.  On returning, Councillor Alasia took the Chair.


The Mayor then appointed Pastor Olaronke Olayemi Hassan as her religious advisor for the ensuing municipal year.  Pastor Olaronke Olayemi Hassan returned thanks for her appointment.


Votes of thanks were made to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Abdul Aziz, the Consort Shoaeb Aziz, and the Mayoresses Najmas Aziz, Hinna Aziz and Iqqra Aziz.


Commemorative badges were presented to the retiring Maylor, Consort and Mayoresses.


Appointment of Young Mayor 2018/19

The Council is asked to note the appointment of Young Mayor for 2018/19.


The Chief Executive, Chris Naylor, advised that a new Young Mayor, Wesley Oparaugo, had been appointed by the BAD Youth Forum in February 2018.


The Chief Executive introduced the new Young Mayor and invited him to address the Ceremonial Council.


The Leader then took the opportunity to thank the retiring Young Mayor, Vaisaly Gnanapandithan, for the able manner in which she had discharged the duties of Young Mayor during 2017/18 and invited her to address the Ceremonial Council.