Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Cabinet (formerly known as the Executive) is:

  • the primary decision-making body for matters which are not otherwise delegated;
  • the formal link between Members and officers in terms of overall direction and performance management; and
  • the key forum for ensuring a corporate approach to service delivery and appropriate partnership links with others with a view to effecting community leadership.


It works within the Council's overall policy framework and pays particular attention to the effective and appropriate use of the Council's resources (workforce, finances and assets).  It is also the body which gives direction to the Chief Executive and the Leadership Group, holds those employees to account for their performance and is also responsible for ensuring appropriate links with external partners.


The Cabinet is made up of a maximum of 10 Councillors, one of which is the Leader of the Council.  Each Cabinet Member is allocated certain areas of responsibility, known as a portfolio.  The Leader may also appoint up to three Deputy Cabinet Members.  Further details can be found at


Contact information

Support officer: Alan Dawson, Head of Governance & Electoral Services.

Postal address:
Ground Floor
Town Hall
1 Town Square
IG11 7LU

Phone: 020 8227 2348